Baja California

True adventures in a land of deserts and whales

3 UNESCO Heritage Sites

Areas of Interest

The Baja California Peninsula is located in the North of Mexico and separates the Pacific Ocean from the Gulf of California or Mar de Cortez. It extends 775 miles (1,247 km) from Mexicali in the North to Cabo San Lucas in the South. The borderline with central Mexico is the Colorado River. The total area of the Peninsula is 55,360 sq mi (143,390 sq km), roughly the same surface as Nepal.

The peninsula is home to several distinct eco-regions. Most of the peninsula is deserts and xeric shrublands, although pine-oak forests are found in the mountains at the northern and southern ends of the peninsula. The south tip of the peninsula, which was formerly an island, has many species with affinities to tropical Mexico.

Baja California is extremely biodiverse along its coasts. The Gulf of California and Baja California’s shores are home to one-third of Earth’s marine mammal species. California sea lions live on the state’s islands, while various types of whales, including the blue whale, breed in the region’s waters.

Every year gray whales migrate more than 10,000 miles between their summer feeding grounds in the Arctic and the coastal lagoons of the southern Baja peninsula.

Laguna San Ignacio in Baja California Sur,  is one of 3 lagoons on the southwest coast of Baja that is the winter home of the gray whale. The whales use these protected, shallow, warm waters as calving nurseries.

San Ignacio is the only lagoon that remains undeveloped and pristine. Here the gray whales spend the months of December to April mating, giving birth and feeding their young calves. San Ignacio Lagoon is within the El Vizcaino Biosphere Reserve, designated as a Biosphere Reserve / World Heritage Site by the Mexican government in 1988.

10-day Self-drive Itinerary

14-day Escorted Full-inclusive Itinerary

Scheduled departure from 

La Paz or Cabo San Lucas

March 15-16th, 2021

Rates and detailed itinerary upon request

    • Day 1: La Paz – Loreto
    • Day 2: Santa Rosalia
    • Day 3: San Francisco de la Sierra
    • Day 4: Valle de los Cirios
    • Day 5-6: Bahía de los Ángeles
    • Day 7: Bahía San Luis Gonzaga
    • Day 8: Guerrero Negro
    • Day 9: San Ignacio 
    • Day 10: San Ignacio Lagoon
    • Day 11: La Purisima
    • Day 12: Bahía Magdalena
    • Day 13: Dispersed camp on the Pacific Coast beaches
    • Day 14: La Paz 

2-day Extension

    • Day 14: Todos Santos
    • Day 15: Cabo Pulmo
    • Day 16: La Paz